Cartalax is a three-amino-acid peptide, Ala-Glu-Asp, from the St. Petersburg group that describes short peptides as tissue "bioregulators". Searches for its dosage are rising, but the record underneath them is thin: no human trial is indexed or registered, and the papers that can be read studied cells in dishes. This page documents that absence, reports what one protocol page states, and does the vial arithmetic. Medibact's Cartalax guide covers the molecule and its evidence.
What the record holds
A census run on 2026-09-28:
| Source | Result |
|---|---|
| PubMed, "cartalax" in title/abstract | 0 records |
| PubMed, AED or Ala-Glu-Asp with cartilage, chondrocyte, fibroblast, skin or bone terms (AEDG excluded) | 9 records, the relevant ones cell studies or reviews |
| ClinicalTrials.gov, "cartalax" | 1 hit, an unrelated nutrition study — 0 Cartalax trials |
| Drugs@FDA | no application |
| PubChem | CID 87815447, C12H19N3O8, 333.29 g/mol |
The name matters when searching. AED shares its first three amino acids with Epitalon (AEDG), and a search for "Ala-Glu-Asp" returns mostly Epitalon papers — lifespan in fruit flies, tumours in mice, retinal studies. None of those tested the tripeptide. The Epitalon dosage page reports that peptide's own record.
What the AED studies used
| Study | System | Concentration or dose | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Chondrogenic differentiation | Ageing human mesenchymal stem cells | 200 ng/mL | Adv Gerontol 2023 (PMID 37782646) |
| Chondrocyte ageing phenotype | Chondrocytes in culture | not stated in the abstract | Adv Gerontol 2023 (PMID 37356100) |
| Skin fibroblast ageing | Ageing human skin fibroblasts | not stated in the abstract | Bull Exp Biol Med 2020 (PMID 33231794) |
| Review | Animal models and older patients, oral | not stated | Adv Gerontol 2023 (PMID 37782637) |
All four come from the St. Petersburg Institute of Bioregulation and Gerontology. The review says AED was effective in animal models of osteoarthritis and given by mouth to older patients with osteoarthritis; the human work it refers to could not be found in PubMed, so its size, dose and design are unknown here. A concentration in a culture dish is not a dose: 200 ng/mL describes what cells were bathed in, and no study found converts it into an amount for a person.
What a protocol page states
A protocol page updated August 2026 labels its schedule as community-reported and not clinically validated, and states that no controlled human injectable trial was identified:
| Weeks | Amount per day (as stated) | Days | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1–2 | 2 mg | 14 | 28 mg |
| 3–4 | 3 mg | 14 | 42 mg |
| 5–8 | 4 mg | 28 | 112 mg |
| 9–12 | 5 mg | 28 | 140 mg |
| 12 weeks | 84 | 322 mg |
The totals are this site's arithmetic: the schedule as written uses about sixteen 20 mg vials. The same page describes subcutaneous injection, which none of the indexed AED research used; the only human route mentioned in the literature found is oral.
Units per vial size
Cartalax is counted in milligrams, so the table works in mg/mL. Units on a U-100 syringe = mg ÷ mg/mL × 100. Vial sizes in this site's data are 10 and 20 mg:
| Amount | 10 mg + 2 mL (5 mg/mL) | 20 mg + 3 mL (6.67 mg/mL) | 10 mg + 1 mL or 20 mg + 2 mL (10 mg/mL) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2 mg | 40 | 30 | 20 |
| 3 mg | 60 | 45 | 30 |
| 4 mg | 80 | 60 | 40 |
| 5 mg | 100 | 75 | 50 |
At 5 mg/mL the top amount fills a whole 100-unit syringe, so the more concentrated columns keep every amount in one draw. A 10 mg vial covers five days at 2 mg and two at 5 mg. The mg to units page sets out the formula and the Cartalax calculator handles any other vial. For a compound whose milligram amounts come from trials rather than protocol pages, the thymosin alpha-1 dosage page is a contrast.
What is not established
No human dose of Cartalax has been tested in a study that can be read: not by injection, and not by mouth in any indexed paper. No regulator has reviewed it. Its half-life in people is unknown. The cell findings come from one institute and have not been reported by an independent group in the sources found. Whether a vial sold as Cartalax contains AED, and how much, is not known without an assay. Nothing on this page is a dose or a schedule.
Sources and dates
Opened 2026-09-28: PubMed through NCBI E-utilities ('cartalax'; AED and Ala-Glu-Asp with tissue terms, AEDG excluded; the AEDG-dominated Ala-Glu-Asp search) and the abstracts and author affiliations of PMIDs 37782646, 37356100, 37782637 and 33231794; ClinicalTrials.gov v2 search for cartalax; Drugs@FDA through openFDA; PubChem compound 87815447; one protocol page (updated August 2026), quoted for what it states. Totals, per-vial and unit figures are arithmetic by this site. Corrections go to the contact page.
