Zepbound KwikPen: How the 4-Dose Pen Delivers a Dose

The Zepbound KwikPen per the label: four 0.6 mL doses, six strengths, priming before each dose, the dial-to-stop rule and what the leftover liquid is.

Medibact Guides · Published 2026-10-14

Illustration: An empty glass vial next to a pen-injector on a white surface, bathed in soft, even light.
Illustration

Zepbound now comes in four presentations, and the newest, the single-patient-use KwikPen, is the only one that is dialled. Searches for it ask the same few things: how many doses it holds, how much liquid each is, why it has to be primed, and whether the clicks mean anything. The answers are all in the label and its instructions for use, which this page reads, with the volumes converted into the syringe-unit terms used elsewhere on this site.

The weekly ladder the pen strengths belong to is on Zepbound's week-by-week dose ladder, and the same molecule's label doses are on tirzepatide dosage. Medibact's Tirzepatide guide covers the molecule.

The six KwikPens

From the label's How Supplied table (openFDA version 40, effective 2026-08-28):

KwikPen strength Dose per injection Total in pen Concentration Doses NDC
2.5 mg 2.5 mg in 0.6 mL 10 mg / 2.4 mL 4.17 mg/mL 4 0002-3566-11
5 mg 5 mg in 0.6 mL 20 mg / 2.4 mL 8.33 mg/mL 4 0002-3555-11
7.5 mg 7.5 mg in 0.6 mL 30 mg / 2.4 mL 12.5 mg/mL 4 0002-3544-11
10 mg 10 mg in 0.6 mL 40 mg / 2.4 mL 16.7 mg/mL 4 0002-3533-11
12.5 mg 12.5 mg in 0.6 mL 50 mg / 2.4 mL 20.8 mg/mL 4 0002-3522-11
15 mg 15 mg in 0.6 mL 60 mg / 2.4 mL 25 mg/mL 4 0002-3511-11

Two things follow from the table. A pen is one strength for four weeks, which lines up with the label's ladder: 2.5 mg for four weeks, then increases of 2.5 mg after at least four weeks on each dose. And the KwikPen's concentrations are identical to the multi-dose vial's, strength for strength, because both deliver 0.6 mL from 2.4 mL; the single-dose pen and vial put the same strengths in 0.5 mL, at 5 to 30 mg/mL.

Bacteriostatic Water, 30 mL vial

Bacteriostatic Water

USP-grade, 0.9% benzyl alcohol, 30 mL multi-dose vial. Research use only.

$30.99

Buy at Medibact

The weekly sequence, as the instructions describe it

The Zepbound KwikPen instructions for use set out the same sequence each week. Paraphrased in order, with the label's wording where it matters:

  1. A new pen needle. The pen needle is not included; the instructions call for a "KwikPen-compatible Pen Needle", a new one each injection. Which needles fit is a supplies question this site leaves to the store's pages.
  2. Priming. "Prime before each weekly injection." The knob is turned slowly "until you hear 2 clicks and the extended line is shown in the dose window. This is the prime position." With the needle pointing up, the knob is pushed in while counting slowly to 5. A drop at the needle tip means the pen is primed.
  3. If no drop appears, the instructions give a fixed escalation: repeat the priming steps "no more than 2 additional times"; if still nothing, change the pen needle and repeat "no more than 1 additional time"; if still nothing, contact Lilly.
  4. Selecting the dose. The knob is turned "all the way until it stops AND the icon is in the dose window". The next instruction reads: "Do not count clicks as you select the dose."
  5. Injecting. The knob is pushed in until it stops and held while counting slowly to 5. The icon must show in the dose window before the needle is removed.
  6. An incomplete dose. If the icon is not in the window, the instructions say to insert the needle back and finish the injection — and, if a full dose is still in doubt, "do not start over or repeat the injection".

The sites the label names (abdomen, thigh, or the back of the upper arm when another person injects) and the timing rules are on where to inject tirzepatide.

Three presentations, three mechanisms

Single-dose pen KwikPen Vial (single- or multi-dose)
Doses per device 1 4 1 or 4
Volume per dose 0.5 mL 0.6 mL 0.5 mL or 0.6 mL
On a U-100 scale 50 units 60 units 50 or 60 units
Needle built in pen needle, supplied separately syringe and needle, supplied separately
Priming none every dose none; air drawn into the syringe first
How the dose is set fixed dialled to a stop drawn to the 0.5 or 0.6 mL line
End of injection second click, up to 10 seconds count to 5, icon in window needle held at least 5 seconds

The unit row is arithmetic, not a label figure: none of the three Zepbound devices is read in units. It is there because readers moving between a labelled pen and a research vial ask how the volumes compare. The vial column is worked through on the Zepbound vial page.

The clicks and the leftover liquid

Clicks appear in the KwikPen instructions only at priming. The label gives no volume per click and no clicks per dose. The click charts in circulation, which assume 60 clicks for a full 0.6 mL dose, are third-party counts; they are checked against the identically built Mounjaro KwikPen on Mounjaro pen clicks, including the arithmetic of what a click would be on each strength if the assumption held.

At the end of the fourth dose some liquid remains. The instructions say not to inject it and not to transfer it into a syringe, and to discard the pen after four weekly doses "even if there is medicine left in it". If the pen will not let the knob turn until the icon reaches the window, the instructions say to discard the pen, unused medicine included. The label does not state how much extra volume a pen holds, so this page gives no figure for it.

Two label lines added this year

The label's Recent Major Changes block dates two KwikPen-related entries to January 2026: the presentation-specific administration section (2.4), which says patients should be trained on the presentation they receive and retrained if it changes, and a warning, "Never Share a ZEPBOUND KwikPen Between Patients", which the instructions repeat as "even if the pen needle has been changed". Section 2.4 also states that the KwikPen "is not recommended for self-administration by those who are visually impaired" — the only presentation the label restricts in that way, because it is the only one read through a dose window.

What this page does not establish

It reports what the Zepbound label and its KwikPen instructions state, read on 2026-10-14. It does not say which presentation or strength anyone should use, how to choose a needle, or how to store a pen; those are a prescriber's and the label's questions, and storage is covered by the store's pages on storing peptides. Volumes in units are arithmetic for comparison only.

Sources and dates

Opened 2026-10-14: the ZEPBOUND (tirzepatide) prescribing information, Medication Guide and Instructions for Use via the openFDA drug label API (Eli Lilly, set 487cd7e7-434c-4925-99fa-aa80b1cc776b, version 40, effective 2026-08-28) — sections 2.1, 2.4, 3, 5.10 and 16 and the KwikPen instructions; the Drugs@FDA record for NDA 217806. Unit equivalents are arithmetic by this site. Corrections go to the contact page.

Bacteriostatic Water, 30 mL vial

Bacteriostatic Water

USP-grade, 0.9% benzyl alcohol, 30 mL multi-dose vial. Research use only.

$30.99

Buy at Medibact

Frequently asked questions

How many doses are in a Zepbound KwikPen?

Four. The label describes each KwikPen as containing 4 fixed doses, one taken weekly, so one pen covers four weeks at one strength. After the fourth dose the pen is discarded even if medicine is left in it.

How many mL is one Zepbound KwikPen dose?

0.6 mL, at every strength. The pen holds 2.4 mL in total. A 2.5 mg pen is 4.17 mg/mL and a 15 mg pen is 25 mg/mL; the volume per dose stays the same and the concentration changes.

Does the Zepbound KwikPen need priming every time?

The instructions say to prime before each weekly injection. The knob is turned until 2 clicks and the extended line appear in the dose window, the pen is held needle-up, and the knob is pushed in while counting to 5; a drop at the needle tip shows the pen is primed.

Can the clicks on a Zepbound KwikPen be counted to set a smaller dose?

The instructions say the opposite: 'Do not count clicks as you select the dose.' The knob is turned until it stops with the icon in the window. The label gives no volume per click; click charts in circulation are third-party counts, checked on this site's Mounjaro pen clicks page.

What happens to the medicine left in a Zepbound KwikPen?

The instructions state that leftover medicine is not to be injected and not to be transferred into a syringe, and that the pen is thrown away after four weekly doses. The label says each pen carries extra volume for priming but does not state how much remains at the end.

How is the KwikPen different from the Zepbound single-dose pen?

The single-dose pen is an autoinjector: one dose, no dialling, no priming, a button held for up to 10 seconds until a second click. The KwikPen holds four doses, needs a pen needle fitted and the pen primed each week, and is dialled to a stop before the knob is pushed in.