Mounjaro Pen Clicks: The KwikPen Click Chart Checked

Mounjaro KwikPen click charts checked against the label: 0.6 mL per dose, mg per click at every pen strength, the priming clicks and the leftover medicine.

Medibact Guides · Published 2026-10-04

Illustration: An unbranded pen injector without labels or numbers, resting on a white surface in soft, even light.
Illustration

"Mounjaro click charts" translate milligrams into the number of clicks a KwikPen's dose knob makes as it turns, so that amounts smaller than the pen's fixed dose can be counted out. This page does not provide such a chart. It reports what the US label says about the KwikPen and its clicks (read 2026-10-04), checks the click figures in circulation against the label's volumes, and shows where a chart goes wrong. It describes; it instructs no one.

The label's escalation steps are on the tirzepatide dosage page; amounts below 2.5 mg and the trials that tested them are on tirzepatide microdosing. The same check for Novo Nordisk's pens is on Ozempic pen clicks, where the charts' main error is different. The ladder the pen strengths belong to, with the Zepbound and Mounjaro rules side by side, is on the Zepbound and Mounjaro dose chart.

What the label says about the KwikPen

The US Mounjaro label now lists four presentations: single-dose pens and single-dose vials (each dose in 0.5 mL), multi-dose vials and single-patient-use KwikPens (four doses of 0.6 mL each in 2.4 mL). The KwikPen instructions describe a pen with "4 fixed doses, one dose taken weekly"; the Zepbound version of the same pen, with its priming retry limits and NDCs, is read on how the Zepbound KwikPen delivers a dose. To select a dose, the dose knob is turned "all the way until it stops AND the icon is in the dose window"; the next sentence reads: "Do not count clicks as you select the dose."

Clicks appear in the instructions in one other place — priming. Before each weekly injection: "Slowly turn the dose knob until you hear 2 clicks and the extended line is shown in the dose window. This is the prime position." The medicine released is described only as "a drop". The label gives no volume per click and no clicks per dose anywhere. Every click figure in circulation was counted by someone other than the manufacturer.

Bacteriostatic Water, 30 mL vial

Bacteriostatic Water

USP-grade, 0.9% benzyl alcohol, 30 mL multi-dose vial. Research use only.

$30.99

Buy at Medibact

The six pens: same volume, six concentrations

Pen Dose per 0.6 mL Total in pen (4 doses) Concentration mg per click if 60 clicks = 0.6 mL
2.5 mg 2.5 mg 10 mg / 2.4 mL 4.17 mg/mL 0.042 mg
5 mg 5 mg 20 mg / 2.4 mL 8.33 mg/mL 0.083 mg
7.5 mg 7.5 mg 30 mg / 2.4 mL 12.5 mg/mL 0.125 mg
10 mg 10 mg 40 mg / 2.4 mL 16.7 mg/mL 0.167 mg
12.5 mg 12.5 mg 50 mg / 2.4 mL 20.8 mg/mL 0.208 mg
15 mg 15 mg 60 mg / 2.4 mL 25 mg/mL 0.25 mg

The first four columns are the label's. The last is arithmetic on the charts' assumption, not a label figure. Unlike the Ozempic pens, whose strength and volume per dose differ by pen, every Mounjaro KwikPen dose is the same 0.6 mL; only the concentration changes.

What the charts state, checked

Three chart pages read on 2026-10-04 (mounjaroclickcalculator.co.uk, clickdose.io and a Dutch clinic's click table) give the same core figure: 60 clicks for a full dose on every pen. Their mg-per-click column is the pen's dose divided by 60, which is what the table above reproduces. None cites a measurement or a manufacturer document for the 60; one lists the US prescribing information and the EU summary of product characteristics as sources, neither of which contains a click count.

Checked against the label, the 60 is at least consistent: 0.6 mL over 60 clicks is 0.01 mL a click, one unit on a U-100 insulin syringe. The charts' arithmetic holds as long as two things are true that the label does not state — that each click is exactly 0.01 mL, and that the pen delivers a partial dial the same way it delivers a full one.

Three points the charts leave out:

  1. The same clicks are a different amount on every pen. 30 clicks is 1.25 mg on the 2.5 mg pen and 7.5 mg on the 15 mg pen. A chart row read against the wrong pen is wrong by up to six times — the largest error on this page, and larger than any rounding of a click.
  2. Priming is two clicks a week. On the charts' own 0.01 mL, each prime releases 0.02 mL, 0.08 mL across four doses. On the 15 mg pen that is 0.5 mg released into the air before each dose (arithmetic, not a label figure).
  3. The pen stops after the fourth full dose. The label says the pen "will prevent you from dialing a full dose after you have given yourself 4 weekly doses". A chart that divides the 2.4 mL into more than four amounts assumes the mechanism permits it; the label does not say what happens to partial dials.

The leftover medicine

The label states that each KwikPen "contains additional volume to allow for device priming" and is explicit about what is left at the end: "Do not inject the leftover medicine. Do not transfer MOUNJARO from your Pen into a syringe." Lilly's Canadian KwikPen instructions add that leftover medicine after the fourth dose "is normal" and "ensures that the KwikPen works correctly". UK pages call it a "golden dose"; a UK pharmacy page read on 2026-10-04 reports that a modified KwikPen was expected from April 2026 to reduce the leftover volume, with both pen versions in circulation during the changeover. The label read for this page does not state how much extra volume a pen holds, so no figure is given here.

Units, for comparison

A syringe unit is 0.01 mL, so the charts' click equals one unit, and the same arithmetic applies to a powder vial. On a research vial of tirzepatide made up to 10 mg/mL, the label's 2.5 mg first step is 25 units; on the 2.5 mg KwikPen at 4.17 mg/mL the same 2.5 mg is 60 units of liquid. The mg to units page covers the formula, tirzepatide reconstitution the vial sizes, and the insulin syringe units page the syringe markings.

What is not established

No study of the accuracy of click-counting on Mounjaro KwikPens was found. Lilly publishes no volume per click or extra-volume figure, and the US instructions tell users not to count clicks. Whether a partial dial delivers the same volume per click as a full dose is not stated anywhere read for this page. The dose a person uses, and how it is measured, is a matter for the prescriber; this page reports arithmetic and sources, not a method. Medibact's tirzepatide guide covers the molecule and its evidence.

Sources and dates

Opened 2026-10-04: the Mounjaro label, medication guide and KwikPen instructions for use (Eli Lilly, DailyMed set id d2d7da5d-ad07-4228-955f-cf7e355c8cc0, published 2026-09-02), sections 3, 11, 16 and the KwikPen instructions; Lilly Canada, Mounjaro KwikPen instructions for use (pi.lilly.com/ca); mounjaroclickcalculator.co.uk, "Mounjaro clicks chart"; clickdose.io, "Mounjaro Click Counter"; Lunaris Clinics, "Mounjaro KwikPen click table"; medino.com, "Mounjaro KwikPen change from April 2026 and the 'golden dose'". Not opened: monj.co.uk's click chart (HTTP 403). Volume and per-click arithmetic by this site. Corrections go to the contact page.

Bacteriostatic Water, 30 mL vial

Bacteriostatic Water

USP-grade, 0.9% benzyl alcohol, 30 mL multi-dose vial. Research use only.

$30.99

Buy at Medibact

Frequently asked questions

How many clicks is a full dose on a Mounjaro KwikPen?

Eli Lilly publishes no click count, and the US instructions say not to count clicks when selecting the dose. Charts in circulation say 60 clicks for a full dose on every pen strength. That matches the label's 0.6 mL dose only if each click is 0.01 mL, which the label does not state.

How many mg is one click on a Mounjaro pen?

Using the charts' 60 clicks per 0.6 mL dose: 0.042 mg on the 2.5 mg pen, 0.083 mg on 5 mg, 0.125 mg on 7.5 mg, 0.167 mg on 10 mg, 0.208 mg on 12.5 mg and 0.25 mg on 15 mg. These are the pen's dose divided by 60, not a figure Lilly publishes.

Why does the same number of clicks give a different dose on each Mounjaro pen?

Every KwikPen dose is the same 0.6 mL; what changes is the concentration, from 4.17 mg/mL on the 2.5 mg pen to 25 mg/mL on the 15 mg pen. A click is a volume, so 30 clicks is 1.25 mg on the 2.5 mg pen and 7.5 mg on the 15 mg pen.

What is the leftover liquid in a Mounjaro KwikPen?

The label states that each KwikPen contains additional volume for priming, that the pen prevents a full dose being dialled after the fourth, and that the leftover medicine is not to be injected or transferred to a syringe. A UK pharmacy page reports a modified pen with less leftover liquid from April 2026.

Is counting clicks on a Mounjaro pen accurate?

No study measuring its accuracy was found for this page. The label tells users not to count clicks and gives no volume per click. The arithmetic here shows the larger error is using a chart for the wrong pen strength, which can change the amount up to sixfold.