Ozempic click charts checked against the label: each pen's strength in mg/mL, the volume of every dose, and why 18 clicks is half as much on today's red pen.
"Ozempic click charts" translate milligrams into the number of clicks a pen's dose selector makes as it turns, so that amounts the dial does not offer can be counted out. This page does not provide such a chart. It reports what the label says about clicks, sets out each pen's strength and the volume of every labelled dose, and checks the charts in circulation against those figures. They do not agree with the label or with each other, and one of the disagreements halves the amount.
The label's escalation steps are on the semaglutide dosage page; amounts below 0.25 mg and the trials that tested them are on the semaglutide microdosing page.
What the label says about clicks
The Ozempic instructions for use (DailyMed version published 2026-06-10) describe the click and tell the user not to rely on it. For each pen: "Always use the dose counter and the dose pointer to see how many mg you select. You will hear a 'click' every time you turn the dose selector. Do not set the dose by counting the number of clicks you hear." They add that "the dose selector clicks differently when turned forward or backward" and that only the pen's own doses can be selected: 0.25 or 0.5 mg on the first pen, 1 mg on the second, 2 mg on the third. The label gives no volume per click and no clicks per dose anywhere. Every click figure in circulation was counted by someone other than the manufacturer.
The three pens, and the one that changed
| Pen |
Strength |
Concentration |
Labelled doses |
Volume per dose |
| Red label (current) |
2 mg / 3 mL |
0.68 mg/mL |
0.25 mg, 0.5 mg |
0.375 mL, 0.75 mL |
| Red label (discontinued) |
2 mg / 1.5 mL |
1.34 mg/mL |
0.25 mg, 0.5 mg |
0.19 mL, 0.375 mL |
| Blue label |
4 mg / 3 mL |
1.34 mg/mL |
1 mg |
0.75 mL |
| Yellow label |
8 mg / 3 mL |
2.68 mg/mL |
2 mg |
0.75 mL |
Strengths from the labels; volumes are this site's arithmetic from the stated contents (for example 0.25 mg × 3 mL ÷ 2 mg = 0.375 mL), because the printed concentrations are rounded. The current label also lists single-dose prefilled syringes of 0.25, 0.5 and 1 mg, each in 0.5 mL, which have no dial.
The second row is the finding that matters. A 2020 copy of the label held on DailyMed lists the starter pen as 2 mg/1.5 mL (1.34 mg/mL). A 2023 copy lists the 0.68 mg/mL pen and states that the 2 mg/1.5 mL strength "is not currently marketed by Novo Nordisk Inc." The starter pen now holds the same 2 mg in twice the liquid. Its dial still shows 0.25 and 0.5, so a user who reads the counter gets the right amount in either pen. A user who counts clicks from a chart written for the old pen does not.
A consequence of the current strengths: the top dose of all three current pens is exactly 0.75 mL. If every pen moved the same volume per click, which the label does not state, each pen's top dose would take about the same number of clicks.
What the charts state, checked
Two chart pages read on 2026-09-24 give these figures:
| Dose |
Chart A (updated 2026-09-04) |
Chart B (updated 2026-09-22) |
What the label strength gives |
| 0.25 mg, red pen |
18 clicks, 0.19 mL |
18 clicks (1.34 mg/mL pen only) |
0.375 mL in the current red pen |
| 0.5 mg, red pen |
36 clicks, 0.37 mL |
36 clicks (1.34 mg/mL pen only) |
0.75 mL in the current red pen |
| 1 mg, blue pen |
74 clicks, 0.74 mL |
72 clicks, about 0.0104 mL a click |
0.75 mL |
| 2 mg, yellow pen |
150 clicks, 1.50 mL |
not given |
0.75 mL |
Chart A is formblends.com's click chart, which says its figures come from "Novo Nordisk pen specifications"; no such figure appears in the label read for this page. Chart B is helloregimen.com's, which states that Novo Nordisk "publishes no clicks-per-dose figure anywhere", restricts its table to the 1.34 mg/mL pen, and traces its numbers to a BC Children's Hospital endocrinology document dated 2024-02-06. It quotes that document as calling click-counting "off-label and not recommended by the manufacturer" with doses to be "viewed as approximate". The hospital's file refused this site's request (HTTP 403), so the quotation is reported as chart B gives it.
Three disagreements follow from the table:
- The red-pen rows describe a pen that is no longer marketed. 18 clicks at about 0.01 mL a click is 0.19 mL, which is 0.25 mg at 1.34 mg/mL. In the current 0.68 mg/mL pen the same 0.19 mL is about 0.125 mg, half the stated amount. Chart B says which pen it means; chart A lists the red pen without the caveat.
- The blue-pen figure differs by two clicks (72 or 74), which is rounding of a click volume nobody publishes, roughly 3% of the dose.
- Chart A's yellow-pen row doubles the volume. 2 mg at 2.68 mg/mL is 0.75 mL, and the pen holds 3 mL for four such doses; 1.50 mL would be 4 mg. Its 1 mg row (74 clicks, 0.74 mL) is likewise the blue pen's volume, not the yellow pen's, which is 0.375 mL.
None of this measures a pen. It checks each chart's own stated volumes against the concentrations on the label, and two of the three pen rows fail that check in at least one chart.
Units, for comparison
A syringe unit is a fixed volume, 0.01 mL on a U-100 syringe, so the same check can be written in units. The current red pen's 0.25 mg dose is 37.5 units of liquid; the blue pen's 1 mg dose about 75. The circulating figure of "about 0.01 mL a click" makes one click roughly one syringe unit, which is why the two scales get confused. The mg to units page covers the formula, and the insulin syringe units page the syringe markings. A powder vial has no dial and no clicks; its arithmetic is on the semaglutide reconstitution page.
What is not established
No study of the accuracy of click-counting on Ozempic pens was found. The manufacturer publishes no volume per click, and its instructions tell users not to count clicks. Whether all three pens move the same volume per click is not stated anywhere read for this page. The dose a person uses, and how it is measured, is a matter for the prescriber; this page reports arithmetic and sources, not a method.
Sources and dates
Opened 2026-09-24: the Ozempic label and instructions for use (Novo Nordisk, DailyMed set id adec4fd2-6858-4c99-91d4-531f5f2a2d79, published 2026-06-10), sections 3 and the instructions for each pen; repackaged copies of the Ozempic label on DailyMed (set ids fdf509ac-7ae5-49be-9a3e-8465c76f38e1, published 2020-09-18, and 979e4df4-0597-48ea-b51c-0f699fa6d166, published 2023-11-20), section 3; formblends.com, "The Ozempic Click Chart" (updated 2026-09-04); helloregimen.com, "Ozempic Click Chart 2026" (updated 2026-09-22). Not opened: the BC Children's Hospital document (HTTP 403). Volume arithmetic by this site. Corrections go to the contact page.