How 5 mg and 10 mg MOTS-c vials convert to mg/mL and U-100 units at 0.5 to 3 mL of water, for the milligram amounts protocol and clinic pages state.
MOTS-c is a 16-amino-acid peptide encoded inside mitochondrial DNA, in the 12S ribosomal RNA region, first described by Lee and colleagues in Cell Metabolism in 2015. On the research market it is sold as a lyophilized powder in 5 mg and 10 mg vials, the two sizes the MOTS-c calculator on this site is built around. This page reports the water volumes the sources state for those vials, the concentration each volume produces, and what the milligram amounts those sources quote come to on a U-100 insulin syringe. It reports; it does not recommend. The figures themselves, and where each one comes from, are on the MOTS-c dosage page; the index of every compound's arithmetic is the reconstitution hub.
What the sources state
MOTS-c is unusual among research peptides in one respect that matters for the arithmetic: the amounts in circulation are milligrams, not micrograms. That decides everything below.
| Source |
What it states |
Kind of source |
Opened |
| DailyMed search, "MOTS-c" |
Zero labels |
Regulator database |
2026-09-18 |
| ClinicalTrials.gov, MOTS-c as intervention |
5 records; one administers it: NCT07505745, Phase 2, 120 planned, subcutaneous, "fixed dose once daily for 12 weeks", amount not stated, recruiting, no results |
Trial registry |
2026-09-18 |
| NCT03998514 (CB4211, a MOTS-c analogue, CohBar) |
Phase 1a/1b, 88 participants, subcutaneous, dose levels named only "Dose 1" to "Dose 6", completed, no results posted |
Trial registry |
2026-09-18 |
| Peptide Dosing Protocols, MOTS-c guide |
10 mg vial in 1.0 mL, 10 mg/mL; "a 5 mg dose is 0.5 mL, which is 50 units"; 5 mg two to three times a week for four to eight weeks, a 10 mg tier; "None of them have been validated in a published human randomized trial" |
Protocol site, last reviewed August 2026 |
2026-09-18 |
| Perfect B clinic page |
10 mg vial in 0.5 mL, 20 mg/mL; "5 mg equals 25 units (0.25 mL)"; once every five days, four injections in a 20-day cycle |
Clinic page, updated 2026-08-19 |
2026-09-18 |
| Lee et al., Cell Metabolism 2015; Reynolds et al., Nature Communications 2021 |
MOTS-c treatment in mice; intermittent treatment three times a week in mice; no human dose |
Peer-reviewed animal studies |
2026-09-18 |
Two things follow from that table. The vial sizes and water volumes in circulation are conventions, because there is no label to set them. And the one registered study that gives MOTS-c to people does not state its dose, so the 5 mg figure cannot be checked against a trial.
Water per vial and the concentration it gives
The calculator works every compound at 1, 2 and 3 mL, and the sources above add 0.5 mL for the 10 mg vial. Concentration is the vial amount divided by the water volume; the micrograms in one unit follow from the U-100 scale, on which 100 units is 1 mL (MedlinePlus, "Giving an insulin injection", reviewed 2024-07-21).
| Vial |
Water added |
Concentration |
Micrograms per unit |
| 5 mg |
1 mL |
5 mg/mL |
50 mcg |
| 5 mg |
2 mL |
2.5 mg/mL |
25 mcg |
| 5 mg |
3 mL |
1.67 mg/mL |
16.7 mcg |
| 10 mg |
0.5 mL |
20 mg/mL |
200 mcg |
| 10 mg |
1 mL |
10 mg/mL |
100 mcg |
| 10 mg |
2 mL |
5 mg/mL |
50 mcg |
| 10 mg |
3 mL |
3.33 mg/mL |
33.3 mcg |
The 0.5 mL row is the clinic page's configuration and the 1 mL row is the protocol page's. Neither source explains why it chose its volume; the arithmetic below shows what the choice does.
The 5 mg and 10 mg amounts in syringe units
These are the two amounts the sources quote, converted at each concentration. A U-100 insulin syringe holds 100 units, so any figure above 100 exceeds one barrel.
| Concentration |
5 mg |
10 mg |
| 20 mg/mL (10 mg in 0.5 mL) |
25 units (0.25 mL) |
50 units (0.5 mL) |
| 10 mg/mL (10 mg in 1 mL) |
50 units (0.5 mL) |
100 units (1 mL) |
| 5 mg/mL (10 mg in 2 mL, or 5 mg in 1 mL) |
100 units (1 mL) |
200 units, two barrels |
| 3.33 mg/mL (10 mg in 3 mL) |
150 units, more than one barrel |
300 units |
| 2.5 mg/mL (5 mg in 2 mL) |
200 units, two barrels |
not available from a 5 mg vial |
| 1.67 mg/mL (5 mg in 3 mL) |
300 units |
not available from a 5 mg vial |
The pattern is the opposite of what a microgram-scale peptide shows. With sermorelin or ipamorelin, more water makes a small draw easier to read. With MOTS-c, more water pushes an ordinary draw past the capacity of the syringe, which is why the two sources that state a volume both chose 1 mL or less for a 10 mg vial.
Why the vial count does not change with the water
A 5 mg vial contains one 5 mg amount. A 10 mg vial contains two, or one 10 mg amount. That is true at 0.5 mL and at 3 mL; the water sets the volume of each draw and nothing else. The pages that describe 5 mg two or three times a week are therefore describing a 10 mg vial every three to five days, and a 5 mg vial per injection, which is the practical consequence the arithmetic makes visible and the sources leave implicit.
There is also no established basis for the 5 mg figure to convert from. The mouse studies used treatment schedules in animals (three times a week in the 2021 paper), the human literature measures the body's own MOTS-c rather than administering it, and the analogue trial that did inject people names its doses only as levels. A weight-based conversion from mice to a 5 mg human figure would need a published scaling the sources do not provide.
The mixing steps, as labels describe them
MOTS-c has no label, so the description below is the labelled procedure for a lyophilized peptide supplied with bacteriostatic water, taken from the EGRIFTA WR (tesamorelin) label revised in March 2025: the lyophilized powder is reconstituted with the stated volume of the supplied Bacteriostatic Water for Injection; the vial is moved in a circle to mix the powder and liquid, and is not shaken; the solution is inspected for particles and discoloration, and is used only if clear and colourless. The same label's own concentration note is a useful caution for anyone doing the arithmetic by hand: its 11.6 mg vial in 1.3 mL of diluent is stated as 8 mg/mL, not 8.9 mg/mL, because the dissolved powder adds to the final volume. The calculator on this site, like every calculator, treats the water volume as the final volume, which is a close approximation at the volumes above and an exact one nowhere. The general procedure in full is on Medibact's how to reconstitute peptides page and is not repeated here.
Storage after mixing
No product label exists for MOTS-c, so there is no label statement to report on the solution's storage; what labels and manufacturers say about reconstituted peptides is on Medibact's how to store peptides page.
What this page does not do
It does not state or suggest an amount of MOTS-c to use, a frequency or a duration. The 5 mg and 10 mg figures above are reported because protocol and clinic pages state them; the page that publishes the tiers says itself that none has been validated in a human randomized trial, and the registry confirms there is no completed trial to validate them. The reconstitution arithmetic is exact for the inputs given and says nothing about whether any input is appropriate. Medibact's MOTS-c guide covers the compound itself; Peptifact's MOTS-c dosage page examines the sponsor behind the one registered trial. Decisions about administering anything to a person belong with a clinician.
Sources and dates
Opened 2026-09-18: the DailyMed SPL search API for "MOTS-c" (zero records); the ClinicalTrials.gov v2 API for MOTS-c as an intervention (five records) and the study records NCT07505745 and NCT03998514; PubMed through the NCBI E-utilities ("MOTS-c"[tiab], 256 records; with humans[mh], 145) and the abstracts of PMID 25738459 (Lee et al. 2015) and PMID 33473109 (Reynolds et al. 2021); the Peptide Dosing Protocols MOTS-c guide (last reviewed August 2026); the Perfect B MOTS-c protocol page (updated 2026-08-19); the EGRIFTA WR prescribing information (revised 3/2025, section 2.2 and section 11); MedlinePlus, "Giving an insulin injection" (reviewed 2024-07-21). Corrections go to the contact page.