How CJC-1295 is injected, from the record: the route in its two human studies, DAC weekly versus no-DAC daily, what labels of related drugs state, and units.
"How to inject CJC-1295" is a question about a peptide that no regulator has written instructions for. There is no label and no approved product, the registry holds a single terminated trial with no route listed, and the published human record is two short 2006 studies in healthy adults, only one of which names its route in the abstract. The name also covers two molecules with very different clocks, which changes how often the circulating figures say it is injected. This page sets out what each source states (opened 2026-10-26) and converts the circulating amounts into syringe units. It describes; it recommends no amount, route, site or schedule.
The figures and their sources are on the CJC-1295 dosage page; the general subcutaneous technique, as the labels of approved injected peptides describe it, is on how peptides are injected.
What the record holds, by source
| Source |
What was given |
Route |
Frequency |
| Teichman et al. 2006, healthy adults 21–61 (PMID 16352683) |
CJC-1295 with DAC, four ascending single doses; then 2–3 doses |
Subcutaneous |
Single dose; then weekly or every two weeks |
| Ionescu and Frohman 2006, healthy men 20–40 (PMID 17018654) |
CJC-1295, 60 or 90 mcg/kg once |
Not stated in the abstract |
Once; blood sampled a week later |
| NCT00267527, phase 2, 120 HIV patients (terminated 2006) |
"CJC 1295" |
Not stated |
Not stated |
| DailyMed, 2026-10-26 |
— |
No label |
— |
| Vendor pages (recorded 2026-09-18), DAC form |
1–2 mg a week |
Subcutaneous |
Once weekly, or split twice weekly |
| Vendor pages (recorded 2026-09-18), no-DAC form |
100–300 mcg |
Subcutaneous |
One to three times a day |
Only the first row is a primary source that answers the question, and it answers it for the DAC form only: subcutaneous, with weeks between doses. Everything said about the no-DAC form comes from vendor pages.
Two molecules, two schedules
CJC-1295 as developed carries a Drug Affinity Complex that binds the peptide to albumin in the blood, which is why the 2006 study measured a half-life of 5.8 to 8.1 days and a rise in IGF-1 that lasted 9 to 11 days after one injection. The companion study found that growth-hormone pulses kept their normal rhythm a week after a single dose while the level between pulses rose 7.5-fold. A once-weekly schedule follows from that clock. The no-DAC form is the same tetra-substituted peptide without the albumin anchor, sold as Mod GRF 1-29; like natural GHRH it is cleared in minutes, which is why vendor pages give it several times a day. No human study has measured either the no-DAC half-life or its effect, so its schedule is a convention. The difference is set out in full on CJC-1295 DAC vs no DAC.
With no CJC-1295 label, the closest documents are the labels of approved peptides injected under the skin. Tesamorelin is the nearest relative, a growth-hormone-releasing hormone analogue of the same family: the EGRIFTA SV label, read 2026-10-26, states "Inject EGRIFTA SV into the abdomen, rotating injection sites." The GLP-1 labels add the thigh and upper arm. Those statements belong to their own drugs; they are reported here because they are the only regulator-reviewed statements about subcutaneous peptide sites, not because they cover CJC-1295. The procedure those labels describe is on the peptide injection page, and tesamorelin's own label-by-label account is on how tesamorelin is injected.
What happens at the site
The Teichman abstract reports no serious adverse reactions and calls the drug "relatively well tolerated", particularly at 30 or 60 mcg/kg; it does not list injection-site findings. Tesamorelin's label names injection-site redness and itching among the reactions seen in more than 5% of patients. Whether CJC-1295 produces the same has not been published.
The amounts, as syringe units
Units on a U-100 syringe = milligrams ÷ concentration in mg/mL × 100. Research vials are labelled 5 mg and 10 mg.
| Amount |
10 mg/mL |
5 mg/mL |
3.33 mg/mL |
2.5 mg/mL |
| 100 mcg (no DAC) |
1 unit |
2 units |
3 units |
4 units |
| 300 mcg (no DAC) |
3 |
6 |
9 |
12 |
| 1 mg (DAC) |
10 |
20 |
30 |
40 |
| 2 mg (DAC) |
20 |
40 |
60 |
80 |
| 2.1 mg (30 mcg/kg at 70 kg) |
21 |
42 |
63 |
84 |
| 4.2 mg (60 mcg/kg at 70 kg) |
42 |
84 |
126 (more than one syringe) |
168 |
Where the concentrations come from: 10 mg/mL is a 10 mg vial with 1 mL of water; 5 mg/mL a 5 mg vial with 1 mL or a 10 mg vial with 2 mL; 3.33 mg/mL a 10 mg vial with 3 mL; 2.5 mg/mL a 5 mg vial with 2 mL. The two forms sit at opposite ends of the syringe: a 100 mcg no-DAC amount is a few units, hard to read accurately on a 100-unit barrel, while the DAC figures, and especially the study's per-kilogram doses, run to most of a syringe at dilute concentrations. How the barrels read is on insulin syringe units; the CJC-1295 vial arithmetic works any vial and volume, and the mixing figures are on CJC-1295 reconstitution.
Status that bears on the injection
CJC-1295 is named in section S2.2.4, growth-hormone-releasing factors, of the 2026 World Anti-Doping Agency Prohibited List (Tractatenblad 2026 no. 25, as recorded on this site's CJC-1295 vs IGF-1 LR3 page, read 2026-10-17), and anti-doping laboratories publish methods that detect it in urine and blood. No regulator has approved it for any use.
What is not established
No label, so no regulator's statement of a route, site or schedule. One human study states a route, for the DAC form only. No human study of the no-DAC form at all. No comparison of injection sites, and no published account of site reactions. The circulating weekly and daily amounts trace to no study. Medibact's CJC-1295 guide covers the compound. Decisions about whether and how to use it belong with a clinician.
Sources and dates
Opened 2026-10-26: abstracts of Teichman et al. 2006 (PMID 16352683) and Ionescu and Frohman 2006 (PMID 17018654) through NCBI E-utilities; ClinicalTrials.gov v2 API record NCT00267527 (status, dates, design, interventions) and the CJC-1295 search (1 study); DailyMed search for CJC-1295 (0); the EGRIFTA SV label on openFDA (set id 3d783378-b02d-4f19-99dd-0fc91a042224, effective 2026-07-29), sections 2 and 6; the PubMed list of records naming CJC-1295 with tesamorelin (16, including the doping-control methods). From this site's pages with their read dates: vendor figures (2026-09-18) and the Prohibited List section (2026-10-17). Unit arithmetic by this site. Corrections go to the contact page.