SS-31 reconstitution: water for 5, 10 and 50 mg vials, the mg/mL and units each gives, set against the approved 80 mg/mL elamipretide solution and its label.
SS-31 is the one compound on this site's reconstitution list whose molecule has an approved product, and the approved product skips reconstitution entirely: FORZINITY, elamipretide for Barth syndrome, arrives as a solution at 80 mg/mL with its own preservative. That gives the research vial something no other powder here has — a regulator-reviewed benchmark for concentration, preservative strength and in-use life — and shows how far the usual water volumes sit from it. This page works the arithmetic for 5, 10 and 50 mg vials, sets it against the label, and states what the label's figures do and do not carry over (sources opened 2026-10-22). It suggests no amount and no water volume.
The label's dose, the trials and the vendor figures are on the SS-31 dosage page. Other vial and water combinations are worked by the SS-31 vial calculator; every compound is indexed on the reconstitution hub.
Water per vial and the concentration it gives
| Vial |
Water |
Concentration |
mg per U-100 unit |
5 mg |
10 mg |
40 mg |
| 5 mg |
1 mL |
5 mg/mL |
0.05 |
100 units |
— |
— |
| 5 mg |
2 mL |
2.5 mg/mL |
0.025 |
200 |
— |
— |
| 10 mg |
1 mL |
10 mg/mL |
0.1 |
50 |
100 |
— |
| 10 mg |
2 mL |
5 mg/mL |
0.05 |
100 |
200 |
— |
| 10 mg |
3 mL |
3.33 mg/mL |
0.033 |
150 |
300 |
— |
| 50 mg |
0.5 mL |
100 mg/mL |
1 |
5 |
10 |
40 |
| 50 mg |
1 mL |
50 mg/mL |
0.5 |
10 |
20 |
80 |
| 50 mg |
2 mL |
25 mg/mL |
0.25 |
20 |
40 |
160 |
| 50 mg |
3 mL |
16.7 mg/mL |
0.167 |
30 |
60 |
240 |
| FORZINITY (label) |
— |
80 mg/mL |
0.8 |
6.25 |
12.5 |
50 |
One U-100 unit is 0.01 mL, and a full 100-unit syringe is 1 mL. A dash means the vial holds less than that amount. The 5 and 10 mg columns are the figures vendor pages cite for "SS-31", recorded on this site's dosage page on 2026-09-18 with no source behind them; the 40 mg column is the label's daily amount for Barth syndrome. The table shows the problem a milligram-scale compound creates that a microgram one does not: at the usual 1 to 3 mL, the vendor figures alone fill one to three syringes from a 5 or 10 mg vial. The volumes that keep a draw inside one barrel are the small ones, which the insulin syringe units page shows on 30-, 50- and 100-unit barrels.
The approved solution as a benchmark
The label describes a product built for daily draws from one vial over about a week. Its figures, side by side with a research vial mixed in bacteriostatic water:
|
FORZINITY (label) |
Research vial in bacteriostatic water |
| Form |
Ready-to-use solution |
Lyophilised powder, mixed by the user |
| Elamipretide concentration |
80 mg/mL |
Whatever the water sets: 2.5 to 100 mg/mL in the table above |
| Preservative |
Benzyl alcohol 20 mg/mL |
Benzyl alcohol 9 mg/mL (0.9%), or 11 mg/mL (1.1%) in some products |
| Buffer and pH |
Monobasic sodium phosphate; pH 4.7 to 6.1 |
None stated; pH not stated |
| Stated weight |
40 mg base per 0.5 mL (46.8 mg as salt) |
Usually not stated whether salt or base |
| In-use life |
Discard 8 days after first opening, refrigerated or 20 to 25 °C |
No data |
Two rows matter most. The preservative strength in the approved product is about twice that of standard bacteriostatic water, chosen with the buffer for a vial that is entered daily; a powder mixed with bacteriostatic water is a different preparation, and the eight-day figure belongs to the approved one. And the salt question: the label is careful to give both 40 mg (base) and 46.8 mg (hydrochloride) per dose. A research vial that states only "50 mg" may mean either, and if it is the salt, it holds 42.7 mg of elamipretide.
How many amounts a vial holds
The water changes how each amount reads; it does not change how many amounts are in the powder.
| Amount |
Where it comes from |
5 mg vial |
10 mg vial |
50 mg vial (base) |
50 mg vial (salt, 42.7 mg base) |
| 5 mg |
Vendor pages, low end |
1 |
2 |
10 |
8.5 |
| 10 mg |
Vendor pages, high end |
0.5 |
1 |
5 |
4.3 |
| 20 mg |
Label, severe renal impairment |
— |
— |
2.5 |
2.1 |
| 40 mg |
Label, Barth syndrome, 30 kg and over |
— |
— |
1.25 |
1.07 |
The approved vial, 280 mg, holds seven 40 mg amounts, which with the eight-day discard rule is the week the product is designed around. A 50 mg research vial holds about one. The counts are arithmetic on the vial labels and the figures; none is a course.
What the label says that transfers, and what does not
What transfers is chemistry and arithmetic: elamipretide is freely soluble in water, its molecular weight is 639.8 as the base and 749.2 as the salt, and 40 mg is a fixed number of milligrams whatever the vial. The label also states that exposure rises in proportion to dose between 2 and 80 mg a day, peaks 0.5 to 1 hour after a subcutaneous injection and is about 92% bioavailable — figures measured with the approved solution in its trial populations. What does not transfer is everything the label attaches to its own product: the dose for Barth syndrome, the storage and discard rules, and the purity and content guarantees that come with an approved vial. ClinicalTrials.gov lists 21 elamipretide studies; every registered subcutaneous trial read for this site's dosage page used the same 40 mg.
What this page does not do
It does not state an amount of SS-31, a water volume to use or a storage time for a mixed vial. It works the concentration for each volume, sets it against the approved solution, and reports what the label says. How mixed peptides are generally stored is on Medibact's how to store peptides page and the mixing steps on its how to reconstitute peptides page; Medibact's SS-31 guide covers the compound. Decisions about administering anything belong with a clinician.
Sources and dates
Opened 2026-10-22: FORZINITY (elamipretide) injection label, Stealth BioTherapeutics, effective 2025-12-10 (openFDA; DailyMed set 146bf34c-76f2-48db-ac07-fb29cce2cd75, history: version 10 published 2025-12-12), sections 2, 3, 11, 12.3 and 16; Bacteriostatic Water for Injection USP label (ProPharma Distribution, effective 2025-11-04, via openFDA), description; PubChem compound 11764719 (elamipretide, C32H49N9O5, 639.8); ClinicalTrials.gov search for elamipretide (21 studies). Vendor figures as recorded on this site's SS-31 dosage page on 2026-09-18. Concentration, unit, salt and per-vial arithmetic by this site. Corrections go to the contact page.